Meet the UAE cricketers set for ICC Women’s World Twenty20

The UAE cricketers will compete with other Asian teams in Thailand this November to qualify for the ICC Women's World Twenty20 next year.

Women in the UAE are increasingly competing on the world stage in sports. Cricket is no exception. This week, the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) announced the team that will represent the UAE at the upcoming International Cricket Council’s Women’s WT20 Asia Qualifier.

Teams from the UAE, China, Hong Kong, Nepal and Thailand will compete in Thailand this November. The top two teams will go on to the 2018 Global Qualifier.

The UAE team

The UAE team includes captain Humaira Tasneem, Chamani Seneviratne, Chaya Mughal, Esha Oza, Ishani Senevirathne, Kavisha Kumari, Namita Dsouza, Natasha Michael, Nisha Ali, Priyanjali Jain, Roopa Nagraj, Samiya Salim, Subha Srinivasan and Udeni Kuruppuarachchi.

“Emirates Cricket has a very clear vision and goal for our women’s representative team to qualify and participate in the 2018 ICC Women’s World Twenty20,” Waleed Bukhatir, Emirates Cricket Board Member and Chief Selector, said.

“The players have been exceptionally committed, training very hard since July of this year and have gained invaluable experience through their very impressive performance against the world’s best at the recent Indoor Cricket World Cup,” he added. “We are confident they will produce the results needed to finish in the top two, securing their place in the 2018 Global qualifiers.”

Leave a Reply